The Wrap-Up: January

lovey dovey

The 1st month of 2015 is over too soon and I’m reminded of something I’ve always wanted to do – but never gotten around to doing, until now – which is to mark the passage of time with lists of accomplishments. Whether they be big or small, a hi-light or even a low-light, I think that the habit of looking back on your rockstar moments can be quite a rewarding and eye-opening experience.

January has always been tricky because the 1st week is still so festive and everybody’s still high on the New Year’s spirit. Things only return to normalcy for me by the 3rd week, and usually by then, I don’t feel like starting any new undertaking because I feel that 2 weeks isn’t enough time to do anything substantial. (Excuses, I know!) :-/

Still, I managed to rake up a few stars under my belt:

² I’ve gotten interested in yoga. I’ve always wanted to be more flexible but my infatuation with the wheel pose is what really cinched the deal for me 🙂 I’ve now added beginner yoga routines to my morning exercises, and regardless of whether or not I eventually get to do the wheel pose, I am already enjoying all that stretching I’m doing.

² I learned that I have hooded eyes. I’ve always just been a lipstick and eye-liner + mascara type, but then for some reason I cannot recall, I became infatuated with eye make-up. I haven’t made the investment in make-up and brushes yet and I’m still on the fence with this one since I’m already happy with my liner & mascara. But if ever I do decide to move forward with this, the process is now a lot less confusing!

² I cooked a bit. I don’t know what they were but I prepared 2 new beef recipes this month. Cooking is a big deal for me because I think I hate it. For me it just seems like such a huge production number for so little returns – they like it, then there’s nothing left to show for all your effort, or they hate it and your confidence and self-esteem is crushed.

Till present, I’ve cunningly avoided the whole deal by hiring a housekeeper/cook. But now that I’ve chosen to embark on an exciting domestic adventure, I have to face this dragon and slay it. Thankfully the housekeeper/cook’s contract will expire by April yet, so I have the luxury of vacillating – I run away from it, then I come back when I’m feeling strong again. Repeat and rinse. Lol!

² I read 3 books: The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands, Matilda Bone (fiction) and The Housewife Blues (fiction).

² I started playing around with photo editing and the results are used to pimp up this blog.

² I found my exercise groove back. I’ll blog about this separately.

² And speaking of exercising, I managed to exercise 14 times in January 🙂 Not bad considering I started back on January 14th yet after pigging out over the holidays. It was tough getting back on the train because the first few times I’d wake up feeling run over by a bus. Thankfully, it got much better by the next week.

² I also cleaned out/organized my closet. I felt so much better after purging out about 2/3rds of it,  and got a much better grip on my personal style.

~~ O ~~

That said, I’m excited to see what fabulous things February has in store for me! 🙂

How about you? What are your stars for January?  Are you looking forward to some goals in February?

2 comments

  1. Some of my “stars for January” include working on eating healthier (I’m one of those sugar addicts who could eat straight sugar and be happy), and doing things that are good for my body (aka, eating healthy). It’s still a work in progress, but I’ll keep trying! Thanks for your thoughts!

    Like

    • Oh sugar! I swear all my teeth are ‘sweet’, so it’s not just a sweet tooth I have. I should look into that some time too.

      Good on your for making health your priority in January 🙂 Kudos and good luck. And thanks so much for sharing 🙂

      Like

So what do you think?

