Hula the Hoop!

hula clownThis month I’m trying on a fun twist to my fitness routine:  hula-hooping 🙂 According to this site hooping is not just a fun way to relieve stress, it also improves your balance and posture, increases coordination and improves flexibility.  But wait!  There’s more!  Hula-hooping also relieves back pain, tones your arms, waist, thighs and … dan,dan, daaaaaan – your derriere.

Oh my, please count me in! 🙂

I like that it’s an exercise that doesn’t require much space, is inexpensive and is something you can do while watching TV. (There are actually a lot of exercises that you can do while watching TV, but hooping is probably the most fun!)

Let’s see, right now I can only do 2-3 full rotations before the hoop is down by my feet! 😀 But this nice tutorial should help me along just fine.

Are there any of you out there who know how to hula-hoop?  How long did it take for you to become decent at it?

20 comments

  1. I love hula hooping! I started doing it two or so years ago, and at first I couldn’t keep it up for more than a minute. I kept practicing though, and now I can read a book and keep the hoop up. I’ve never lasted more than an hour, but it doesn’t fall down anymore unless I stop on purpose. : )
    It’s also important to get one that’s wide enough for you– it it’s too small, it’ll never stay! Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, I feel encouraged 🙂 A minute seems like an eternity for me right now. LOL! But I’m having such fun practicing so I’ll definitely keep at it.

      Thanks a lot for the tip!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My daddy started me young on all things physical and hula hooping was one of them. Though he taught me many tricks as well as how to get ‘er going when I was just 6 or 7. Just have to keep up your momentum and fluid movement. No odd jerks, no slowing down until you have a good strong rotation going. I love it! I’m definitely planning on doing it this summer after the baby to lose some of that extra fluff left over. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never thought about hula hooping as exercise, but it makes sense. I could never hula hoop well even as a kid. I’d probably still be horrible. But I would be up for giving it a try. I am having gallbladder surgery this month, but when I heal I think I would like to give this a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would love to attempt this again. I’ve tried it on numerous occasions, but only because someone else had one and I’d decide to give it a try. But, I should just get my own and make a real effort because of all the benefits you’ve listed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I keep a hula hoop behind the couch in my family room.
    About 2 years ago I was thinking about things I always wanted to do and never learned …. the hula hoop was one of them. I’m not the most coordinated person in the world, but I figured if I practiced every day, sooner or later I would get the hang of it.
    I found youtube videos very valuable, but it still took me a couple of months before I could really hoop ‘easily’. Did I mention I wasn’t very coordinated? 🙂

    The result … my core is stronger and I found it helps to relieve stiffness – especially in the lower back and hips.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great feedback. Now I feel really justified to have chosen this over juggling (yes, I want to learn that too!).

      Some of the YouTube mentors do mention that they’ve been at it for several years before they could be at a respectable level. I’ll just keep mine by the TV so it’s within easy reach and there’s no excuse not to practice 🙂

      Like

So what do you think?

