Book Review Day| Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

I love to tidy and organize! I just cannot focus if my environment is topsy-turvy. I strive for next-to-bare table top surfaces, bare floors and not a single dirty dish in the sink!  But that’s just me 😉

Now meet Marie Kondo, she runs an acclaimed consulting business in Tokyo that helps clients transform their cluttered homes into spaces of serenity and inspiration. She’s the author of this marvelous book, “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: the Japanese art of decluttering and organizing”.

Marie had me at “Your real life begins after putting your house in order” 🙂

I thought all the while that I already had the art of tidying down to a tee, I do watch “Clean House” every chance I get. But this book showed me even more and better tidying success secrets that were real eye-openers. Here are just three solid lessons I learned:

Tidying must start with discarding –

When tidying, Marie recommends putting everything in one place, preferably out on the floor. And then to go through every single item asking yourself if it sparks joy. If it doesn’t, away it must go. To support that point, the book teaches us to dispose of anything that does not fall into one of three categories: currently in use, needed for a limited period of time, or must be kept indefinitely.

Most of us do not discard. We’re sentimental so we just store things to oblivion. Marie says “putting things away only creates the illusion that the clutter problem has been solved”.

Store your things to make your life shine –

“The secret to maintaining an uncluttered room is to pursue ultimate simplicity in storage so that you can tell at a glance how much you have”.

Have you ever found out after a thorough tidying session that you have more than what you need of a particular object? That happens to me a lot. And that’s because not only do we sometimes keep the same type of item in different parts of the house, we also tend to forget they are there (or how many we already have) when we don’t see them.

Since reading this book, I’ve invested in a few simple plastic containers that allow me to see what’s inside. But aside from that, and as this book will tell you, all you really need are shelves or drawers and some empty shoeboxes.

Your living space affects your body –

“It’s a very strange phenomenon, but when we reduce what we own and essentially ‘detox’ our house, it has a detox effect on our bodies as well”.

When we’ve paired down everything in our house to only those that are truly essential and which spark joy in us, what a relaxing haven we create for ourselves and our loved ones. Instead of shelves of ‘invisible’ books gathering dust, each one that passed the ‘joy-test’ is a real keepsake that inspires instead of clutters.

 

I couldn’t sit still as I was reading this book, it was so motivating that I’d sporadically get up in between pages and clean out a closet or room right then and there. I discarded so much in the process, even items I hung on to for sentimental reasons but which really were just sitting there occupying space. And Marie is right, I don’t miss them!

That said, this review really doesn’t give the book enough justice. You just have to read it yourself to appreciate it fully. I guarantee it will leave you with dozens of simple, straightforward, yet brilliant tips on tidying and organizing.

~ O ~

And now for my book related poll:  Which type are you – dog ears or bookmarks? 🙂 And feel free to share your reasons in the comments section!

~ O ~

Book Review Day is a monthly blogging event hosted by the beautiful Nivedita at Weird and Wonderful.

Have you read something amazing this month?  🙂

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book Review Day| Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up

  1. Racharoonie says:

    I recently read this and reviewed it, I must say this book has made so many positive changes in my life; the most noticeable being how much time I’ve saved by knowing where everything is. I haven’t lost anything in about six months. Additionally getting rid of crap is SO LIBERATING! I’m glad you enjoyed it, I hope more people hear about this book 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paardje says:

      Getting rid of crap is so liberating indeed! 🙂

      I love how I can I can now look at say, an item I purchased because it looked good on display but really does nothing for me and think “okay, your purpose was to teach me that this kind of fabric/color/cut/something is not for me, so I will make a better buy next time”. And I can let that item go without guilt instead of hanging on to it.

      Really, this book has so many practical lessons and yes, more people should read it.

      Thank you for commenting ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Remy says:

    I had heard of this book (and the woman behind it!) previously, but now I really need to pick it up. A thorough de-cluttering could really do me some good!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Paardje says:

      Hey there, beautiful friend ❤ Glad you popped in 🙂

      The book's gonna be money well spent for sure. And enjoy the process of de-cluttering!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I love how you got up to tidy round while you were reading it! Maybe this is a book I need!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      I know, right! The book’s given me ‘permission’ to let go of a lot of things. I realized I used to just organize as opposed to tidy as I still kept most of the clutter. I’ll be able to do both now moving forward 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ginny says:

    I am a pretty tidy person, but the older I get, the more things I accumulate and I am thinking I need to pick this book up. I will add it to my list 🙂 And I am a bookmark kind of girl. Don’t want to “destroy” a book. And I never write or put my name on books. I cringe when I see people do that. Don’t know why. Just like to leave my books pristine I guess.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paardje says:

      Thanks Ginny 🙂 I’m a bookmark type too, but I high-light my non-fiction books like it’s a party! It’ll perhaps be a relief for you to know that they’re mostly on my Kindle now so, no real harm done 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Clare Barton says:

    I am always just shoving stuff away, hoarding, too scared to throw incase I need it later on. I never do. It sounds like this book will be helpful to me!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paardje says:

      I believe majority of us are hoarders. I guess we’re just being practical that way. The downside is clutter of course.

      I am positive the book will indeed be helpful to you. I still learned a lot of lessons even though I already fancied myself really good at tidying and organizing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

