Mondays Are For Recommitting to Fitness & Vanities πŸ˜—

hot pinknessI am convinced that no matter how challenging things may get, there’s never an excuse good enough to not take care of yourself. For me, this is usually in the form of exercise and proper grooming, or what I fondly term ‘vanities’.

Admittedly I have allowed my fitness to fall by the wayside ever since arriving in Indonesia. Diet has especially taken a big hit, so as sleep and exercise. Nevertheless, whenever Monday comes around it always reminds me not to let myself go just because.

The last time I talked about exercise was when I found solace in a huge oval for runners/walkers. I had vowed to make good use of that oval, even buying myself some fancy neon colored Nikes for added fun. However, a consistent schedule has been difficult to lay down. There’s the irregular rains as well as my new responsibilities as a homemaker.

So what’s a domestic diva to do? Yep, purchase a structured exercise program by trusted fitness experts to do indoors at any time of the day πŸ™‚

I’ve slid so much down the fitness ladder ever since my last program that I needed to start with something basic. I also do not have dumbbells yet. So I chose the 4-week Fitness Blender Reach program for flexibility and toning. The combination of pilates, yoga and stretching is perfect to serve as a warm up to a more strenuous program eventually. (I’m already excited about their 4-week bodyweight only program!).

source
source

The beginning is always the most difficult, it’s easy to postpone or skip an exercise, making sore muscles and/or a loose schedule an excuse. But therein lies the danger as we all know. I started the previous Monday and am happy to report that – with the help of my daughter whom I’ve designated as my coach – I haven’t missed a single day of the program yet πŸ™‚ We’ve also started to add a 5-10 min Zumba routine for some cardio.

On the vanities side, I bought myself a new toy. Ta-daaaah!

new toy

I’ve never been particular about curling & straightening before but I figured there’s always space for something new in your life so, might as well πŸ™‚ And it’s purple ❀ ❀ ❀

How about you, how are you taking care of yourself lately?

7 comments

  1. No, I am not taking care of myself like I should be. I need to get back to walking and I need to get back to cooking healthy. Ever since my gallbladder issues about 9 months ago, everything went south because I wasn’t feeling well. Now that my surgery is over and I am back to normal, I need to get back into things. It’s just been so nice eating again without being in pain. So I have been eating way too many unhealthy things. One of my walking buddies moved away, and the other is having serious hip pain issues. So…I need to rely on myself to get back into things…soon. Good luck with your fitness and love the purple hair tool!

    Like

    • I’ve been mindless about my eating too! I figured I should cut myself some slack in that department what with my new environment. But truth be told, it’s just nice to eat. Period! LOL πŸ˜€

      I’m glad to know you’re now well enough to consider making a get-fit-again strategy πŸ™‚ Best of luck!

      Like

  2. well done for cracking on and taking care of your health and fitness and have fun with the hair curler! I’ve got all the stuff I need – fitness equipment, dvds,juicer,smoothie maker, etc. I just need to get me some of that motivation stuff

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your writing is humorous with good content. I’ll bet you care about people. It’s always a good reminder to ask people if they are taking care of their own health needs. Good luck in your new home environment. I look forward to reading about your experiences in a new culture.

    Thank you for viewing my blog site as well. I welcome everyone’s perspectives and comments and hope many will benefit from the content.

    Stay healthy and happy!

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

