๐ŸŒœMy G-Squares Are Making Me Fall Asleep๐ŸŒ›

I am still fond of granny squares, and I’m still churning out mine like anything, but I do think they are just meant to be a side-project. They can get so monotonous that I really think you need another project to keep the motivation high.

I’m also getting scared of all those ends that I’ll need to hide and all that sewing together that’ll need to happen before the project is complete :/

I feel myself getting cold feet.ย  And I kill hours Googling swimsuit coverups, shrugs, vests, skirts and anything with a lacy design.

So for a while I briefly ventured into my favorite territory – pineapple country โค

crochet pineapple lace motif

… Only to unravel it and include it in my g-square stash because I’m not so much into the pumpkin color.ย  (This one’s supposed to be a fancy scarf but if that’s to be then I want it in black).

On the sunny side, I do think the g-squares have instead helped me find what I’d like to focus my crochet energies on:ย  wearables. And I think a good place to start would be with a shrug – in granny squares! But I’ll look into lacy motifs because anything else wouldn’t look appropriate in a tropical climate like Indonesia’s ๐Ÿ™‚

20-1This is quite a tall order for someone whose only crochet experience has been doilies, but I’m excited to see where this will take me.

Meanwhile, I use my granny squares as a bedtime ritual right before I turn off the lights ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you have a favorite type of item to crochet?ย  What makes it so enjoyable for you? And if you’re an advanced crocheter, any advice on how I can get from doilies to skirts and blouses? Much appreciated! ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ๐ŸŒœMy G-Squares Are Making Me Fall Asleep๐ŸŒ›

  1. I like granny squares because I can take a project with me, but I agree with you that they get monotonous and I often have more than work in progress to keep from dying of boredom. If you’re ready to move to wearables, then I suggest you pick a pattern and give it a go! I was all about baby blankets and slippers until just last month. I picked an easy to understand crochet tank top tutorial/pattern and was thrilled with the results! I feel like my confidence has quadrupled since my first attempt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Yeah I was skirting around the issue of just making a run for an easy pattern – after all, I think one learns as they go. Hearing your experience is motivating ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for sharing!

      And indeed, I carry my granny squares wherever because it’s still so addictive! But I really think it should just be a side project. The kind that just surprises you with its progress one day ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Paardje, have you tried the ‘weave as you go’ technique for your Granny Squares? It means that you simply need to snip the ends when you’ve finished and is soon satisfying! And if you slip stitch or dc (UK terminology) the squares together, then there’s no sewing together at all ๐Ÿ™‚

    You’ve already got all the skills you need for wearables – increases & decreases for the shaping and lots of patience. Go For It!

    pw x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      No, I haven’t tried weave as you go yet, but I’ll look into that as well as the slip stitching. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction ๐Ÿ™‚

      As for the wearables, I guess doing it is the only way to learn so yes, I’m working on something right now that’ll build my skills in that area.

      Thank you so much for the support. I appreciate you taking the time to give me some advice ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good Woman says:

    I have enjoyed following your saga with the granny squares. I have not crocheted for a number of years, but I do want to get back into it. I remember the chore of making granny square afghans, loving the crocheting, but hating the assembling and hiding the yarn ends. I managed to finish several and the end result was great, although the process was tedious. The advice about weave as you go seems to be very good advice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Somebody around WP once said she enjoyed making large projects because of the “I did it!” feeling at completion. I’m looking forward to that ๐Ÿ™‚

      I am just amazed at the variety of things you can crochet, and Pinterest has become another rabbit hole for me lately.

      I hope you give it a try again. I bet you don’t need me to tell you it’s pretty satisfying ๐Ÿ™‚

      And thank you so much for reading my stories โค

      Like

  4. Pingback: Experimenting With Lace Granny Squares | Of Snail Mail, Books & Vanities

  5. I’m sure you’ll manage a gorgeous wearable โค I do have an amirugumi book or what they are called – haven't gotten round into looking into it yet though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I'm so so busy with my decluttering that I'm not getting anywhere I feel… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I should just take days "off" and create something, but then taking everything out creates a new mess… *sigh*… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

