Crochet Exercise #1: Scallops Lace Insertion

The only way to learn crochet is to crochet πŸ™‚ So I got hold of some old crochet books that are available online for free at the Antique Pattern Library.Β  They have some really beautiful antique lace designs that I can practice on and collect for future use.

This one is found on page 5 of the book Priscilla Crochet Book Edgings and Insertions, and is referred to as Figure 10 insertion.

What is an insertion?

Based on my understanding, it is a strip of crochet fabric that we can add to projects for added oomph. As opposed to an edging where one side is straight and the other is purposely left “frilly”, an insertion will have both sides worked straight for it to be easily inserted.

The pattern I chose for this exercise is made up of scallops and is quite easy to make, there are only 3 rows and connecting the scallops is very simple. Give it a try! πŸ™‚

figure 10 insertion

 

The pattern is written in UK terms and, based on my execution, is as follows:

Chain 10 and join with a slip stitch. Chain 3.

Row 1 – 11 dc in ring (do not join!), chain 3, turn.

Row 2 – 1 dc in the next 4 dc’s, (chain 2, 1 dc in next dc) 6 times, chain 2, 1 dc on top of previous row’s chain 3, chain 6, turn.

Row 3 – 1 sc at base of chain 6 (forming a loop), *(chain 5, 1 sc in next dc) 7 times, chain 6, skip 3 dc’s, 1 sc on previous row’s starting chain 3, chain 3, turn*.

This finishes the scallop. Start back at the 1st row by making the 11 dc’s in the chain 6 loop.

 

To connect scallops:

Start at the end of the 2nd row of the 3rd scallop, as follows:

Chain 3, 1 sc in 2nd loop of previous scallop, chain 3, turn.

1 sc at base of chain 3 (on current scallop being worked), then repeat from * to *.

Continue happily along until desired length is achieved.

 

Do let me know how it turned out πŸ™‚

10 comments

    • You’re welcome πŸ™‚ The book still has a lot more pretty patterns. Trying to execute another one at the moment. I might share it too if it turns out okay πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ Yes, it does take getting used to. Likewise, since I started with thread back when I made doilies, crocheting with thicker yarn & bigger hooks are quite awkward for me at the moment.

      Like

  1. …fantastic!!! I can’t imagine how this is done with one needle – it is done with one needle only, right? What will you use this for now that you’re finished? It’s absolutely gorgeous… I use that sort of lace (but not as big and not as pretty, but kinda crochet lace) to decorate cards πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Yes, only one needle πŸ˜€

      I’m only practicing for now so I unravel it once I’m done and move on to the next. I’m sort of just collecting patterns I find interesting for future use.

      Using them to decorate cards is a great idea! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?

