A World Away

no worriesI think the best way to start this challenge is by sharing the biggest thing I’ve ever done for myself by way of self care – quitting my job at the start of this year.

Now if you knew me personally, and rewind a few years back, you’d never ever imagine this to be something I would do. Me, competitive, independent, proud. And to leave a lucrative career to become someone who was financially dependent on a husband – preposterous!

But we were a fragmented family then. My husband was an expat abroad and our only child was beginning to express her unhappiness at our situation. Being a quasi single parent was also taking its toll on me. While I relished the freedom of solo decision-making, anything unexpected, no matter how small in hindsight, would drive me up the wall. I was feeling exposed on all fronts, with not a solid wall to back up against.

Resentment was building up. And mentally, I was feeling increasingly tired.

So I swallowed my pride and told the hubs about it. Fast forward a couple of months later and here I am in Indonesia, uprooted from everything dear and familiar, practically confined within the 4 walls of this huge, old house, and with only the occasional visit from a mischievous monkey to call as the day’s highlight XD

But oh how much relaxed I feel. How nice it is to have someone take care of you – no more stressing out about flat tires, leaky faucets and things that go bee-doo-bee-doo in the night!

How luxurious to have that much time to do whatever I want. To not have to rush, to sleep without stress, to wake up without stress… amazing!

And to be able to singularly take care of something truly important for a chance – my family ❤

It’s my time to take stock. To curate what to bring along unto the next journey, and what to leave behind. This is my ‘grace of interruption’. And I’m glad I took it 🙂

~0~

This post is fondly written for Writeful Mind’s Feel-Good Friday weekly challenge 🙂

writefulmindfgf

14 comments

  1. You’re right about being taken care of. Good for you for saying something; from the sound of it ~ a win-win-win situation for all concerned.

    Thank you SO much for taking part in my event. I do hope it helps you and your readers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your decision. I know it had to be a hard one. My hubby takes very good care of me. And after 15 years of running a home party business, I have decided to be done. Or at least take a much needed break until the new year. Then I will see where that leads me. It has only been about 2 months, but I am liking the “freedom” 🙂 Doing what I want, when I want…I may just get used to this. I wish you all the best in your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. It definitely seems like you’ve done the best choice for you and your family, and I’m very glad to read that and happy for you 🙂 Thank you for writing it all down – it gives a lot of impulses to think about…

    Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?

