Posted in Health & Beauty, Monthly Reviews & Blog Updates

Mid-Holidays Check In From Paardje :)

treeHey everyone! Happy Holidays! 🌟🌟🌟 How are the holidays treating you? 😀

I hope you are all enjoying the holidays relaxing with dear friends and family.  As for me, I have had the wonderful gift of not cooking for 6 days straight (21st to 26th), and I enjoyed it thoroughly XD

We had a few days in Melaka (Malaysia), unfortunately we weren’t able to extend our stay for Christmas because the limo service didn’t want to be on the road from the 25th onwards.

Apparently, something really fascinating happens between Malaysia and Singapore during the holidays – they exchange population XD XD So what happens is a MONSTER dose of traffic both ways along Johor Bahru‘s causeway (this connects Malaysia to Singapore) – huge enough for sane limo drivers to avoid 🙄

So we had to come home earlier than planned, spending the holidays in Indonesia instead and just making the most of it 🙂 I took some pictures for you:

~  a very serious looking penguin next to a Christmas tree standing at attention in one of the malls

penguin

~  a haunted house during Christmas?!? (Apparently yes! And it’s attracting huge crowds too!)

haunted house

~  our new toy which has gotten my small nuclear family all agog 😀

new toy

~  a silly picture of my fruit cake that I just had to post here because the raisins look like hearts (do you see it?) 😀

fruit cake

And seeing as we’re ending this post with a fruit cake, I’m very sure a lot of you out there are worried about weight management during the holidays (even if you don’t like to admit it) XD

🌟 🌟 Paardje’s Holiday Weight Management Tip:

So here’s a small tip (I hope it’s not yet too late!) ~ I’m taking the focus off of weight loss and just concentrating on not gaining.  That way I can still eat without pressure, but also am not throwing all caution to the wind just because it’s the holidays.

My friends have stopped going to the gym for December and are allowing themselves to be reckless with food intake on the thought that they’ll burn it all off in January. I think this is a mistake.  It’s really not easy to burn off the weight gain and, it’s actually far much easier to just exercise a little mindfulness (read: control) as you focus your enjoyment on [only] your favorite foods.

And that’s all from me for now.  Keep safe and enjoy the holidays! ❤

6 thoughts on “Mid-Holidays Check In From Paardje :)

  1. I think the worst way to spend December, if you don’t want to put on weight, is to go to lots of parties and overeat all month. I did my baking on the 22nd, our celebrations are limited to just a few days, and so there’s a good chance that I can get away with some extra fruit cake and mince pies before the new year! Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to giggle when imagining the two countries exchanging population – what a thought 😀 !!! I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday ❤ Thanks for the tip! Just before I was preparing some bread for dinner and wanted to spread honey on the bigger slice instead of nutella… then I thought – feck it, I deserve chocolate right now… 😀 PS: love your new background colours – so cute ❤ And I finally managed to find the snow button – much too late 😀 Although we still haven't had snow down here either, so…^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yes, it’s a funny thought, but I now understand why they say that 😀 On the causeway on our way home, traffic was already bad and despite the efficiency of Singapore’s immigration personnel, we still were stuck for close to an hour. And the ‘population exchange’ was just getting warmed up! XD

      I hope you and yours are enjoying the best of the season as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?

