Am I Shooting Myself In The Foot?

cat workoutHello sexy people! Happy Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

Every Monday I talk about fitness matters here on OSB&V and today I’d like to confide something – I’ve been eating like a madwoman the whole of last week. Really!

The Bottomless Belly

It’s alarming because I can’t even feel myself get full anymore, something that I’ve been training myself to do when I started in November, back when I decided behavior modification was the way to go as far as weight loss/maintenance was concerned. What’s even crazier is that I need much more carbs than I used to, and like I haven’t eaten any in 2 days!

As I’ve told you 2 weeks ago I took on a Fitness Blender program which outlines 3 hard-hitting workouts per week. And because I โค Fitness Blender so much I also supplement on days off with more Fitness Blender vids.ย  (So no more dance fitness vids for me despite initial plans to the contrary).

Is HIIT To Blame?

Here comes last week and I find that my appetite is through the roof! Could it be the combination of HIIT and strength training?

I did some reading and found out that HIIT increases metabolism and could also increase appetite – which seems to be the case with me.

And let’s talk about strength training while we’re at this. I’ve also noticed that it renders me virtually useless the rest of the day. I am sluggish like a sloth, fuzzy-brained and craving sweets.

What a deadly combo ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Have you had a similar experience with your exercise routine?

Change of Plans

So back to the drawing board I go. As I’ve already decided that appetite control is at the bottom of my weight management pyramid, anything that disturbs that will be reviewed, including exercise.

The plan is to stillย  do FB videos (because I still think they are the best), but I’m going to lay off on the HIIT for now, especially when doing strength training. I’ll do low impact cardio toning exercises alternated with strength training and keep tabs on the overall duration of the exercise.ย  I do enjoy exercising very much, so my goal is to still challenge my body but keep my appetite on an even keel. I’ll see how this goes.

Wish me luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

35 comments

  1. I feel tired just reading your fitness regime. I sooo wish I enjoyed exercising but the truth is I really don’t. Dancing was the best exercise I ever did but I stopped a couple of years ago and never took it up again. I commend you for keeping at it and trying to find the best for your body.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I find that the more I exercise the quicker I’m burning calories although I’m also eating a lot more. Especially with all the walking I do, and up and down stairs about twenty times a day! Good luck with your exercise and diet regime this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Does your weight remain the same despite the appetite? About 2 years ago I did a Fitness Blender program and was in enviable shape despite eating so much. But then life happened and I had to stop and I ballooned! So now I don’t want to rely too much on exercise for weight management, and that’s why I’m careful about appetite increase. Thanks for wishing me luck ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope to find the right balance eventually … hopefully before I throw in the towel! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You will find the balance. Mine is a different story. I had a really stressful year last year and the weight seemed to just fall off me, even though I was still eating a lot. The stress is still largely there and I seem to have plateaued but it’s been interesting. I’m not complaining though. I just don’t want to lose anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck! The more you work out, the more you will want to eat! I used to do the HIIT workouts and was always hungry. Then when I went to crossfit, SUPER hungry. Make sure you are heating the good stuff, not crap like chips and etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh dear, you confirmed my suspicions XD I don’t want to increase my appetite so I best find something that’s not as demanding then. I appreciate your comment & encouragement ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Wishing you Luck ๐Ÿ™‚
    Could it be that your body is really asking for more food , but of a different kind ? more protein and/or good healthy fats ? to rebuild and repair tissue ? just a thought ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (disclaimer : I’m a couch potato , with very bad eating habits ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  5. HIIT does make you feel hungry all the time. AND if you are operating at a caloric deficit your leptin levels get all crazy. As a result, your body tells you to eat every starchy, carby thing you can get your hands on. I went through that when I started Crossfit. You need a refeed day or two a week. Up your caloric intake to at least maintenance level, and make a large portion of that good carbs. That might help.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’ve described my condition to the letter! At the time I was indeed watching my carb intake. I’ve been feeling much better now that I’ve cut myself some slack as far as that is concerned – but a bit guilty too that I might still be undermining my efforts. I really like your suggestion of a refeed day. I think that’ll help me and it’s something I can do/stick to ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Your very welcome, glad I can help someone in similar circumstances. I hope it works for you. The original advice I got was that you may need two refeed days a week depending on how you feel. I did some more research and somewhere between 48 and 72 hours of carb restriction, is when the leptin issue rears it’s head. It’s cyclic. You can keep refeeding to stave it off and still lose fat, just keep the refeed days at least 48 hours apart.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. To be honest you may be doing too much volume per session or doing more training than needed for progression. I have used hitt ontop of powerlifting specialization training before and it did not interfere too much. As long as you are not gaining tons of weight it could be the metabolism boost from the amount of volume (work done) that hiit allows you to do in one session. If you are gaining weight it could be 1) too much volume 2) too little protein to fill you up 3) too little fiber to fill you up 4) too little carbohydrates some days, leading to carbohydrate binges….etc. If you ever need to consult with someone I am a NSCA certified personal trainer as well as a powerlifter and men’s physique competitor. CHEERS!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the advice ๐Ÿ™‚ โค
      It's been a while since I posted this and meanwhile I think I have struck a good balance between exercise, nutrition and rest. It's been a journey of discovery that continues up to now though, so I do appreciate guidance from (generous) professionals and fellow fitness enthusiasts ๐Ÿ™‚ I'm following your blog now so thanks so much for reaching out. Appreciate it!

      Like

So what do you think?

