Share Your World 2016 #9

by the sea

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

Yes. I’ve finally found out the names of the 2 lovely cleaning ladies [that come to our house every day] by asking them myself! (In my pidgin Indonesian). They are Ibu Ingah and Ibu Supiati. “Ibu” means mother or madam in Indonesian.

Which reminds me of one funny incident when I was just a few days old here in Indonesia: One day coming home from a morning walk I hear a man behind me say “pagi,’bu” and felt myself blush. I did not know the meaning of the word “Ibu” at the time and honestly thought the man said “good morning, boo” and well … you know what that means! LOL!

Don’t worry, I’m wiser now.

I also used to think Indonesians were just so kewl because they ended most of their sentences with “yeah”. As in, “tungguh (wait), yeah?”  At the time I did not know that “yes” was “iya” generally shortened to “ya” . XD XD 

So really, I cannot stress enough how important it is to learn at least the basics of the foreign language you are going to immerse yourself in. Go ahead, you can go “duh!” on me now XD

Now where was I ….?

What can you help the world with?

I have no idea. And then simultaneously a lot of ideas that seem too trivial or grandiose upon closer examination 🙄

People (office mates) used to tell me they liked talking to me because I was such an encourager. They’d be in doubt about something and I’d help them feel better and more confident about themselves. So I guess I’ll start there. Yeah, why not?

If life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… which fruit other than a cherry would you be..?

I’m not that fond of fruit really so this is a difficult question 🙄

I also think that the whole point of choosing the cherry to mean “life is pleasant” is because it’s easy to pop in your mouth. I mean, you don’t have to peel, slice or remove anything before being able to eat it. It even comes with a handy stem, usually. And cherries are sweet and they have that beautiful color too. I’m over analyzing this, am I?

Can I still be a cherry, please? XD

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes?

Ahhh, I’m also really not into quotes. But I can offer you a personal “template” instead.

Whenever I beat myself up in some way, like say I call myself “cranky” in my head and I want to stop that nasty voice I go “cranky is as cranky does” — and that is enough to remind me it’s not me (the person), it’s how I’m acting.  And as such I can also change this right away.

It can be applied to anything too: “lazy is as lazy does”, “careless is as careless does”, “happy is as happy does”. It works for me every time 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week ~

I’m very grateful (and stoked!) that this post still keeps getting responses ❤ ❤ ❤

If you haven’t yet, please chime in!

~ and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

A new fantasy book series 🙂 (Squeal!)

~ oOo ~

Written for

041514-sywbanner

Click on the badge to join the fun! 🙂

~ oOo ~

This entry was posted in Share Your World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World 2016 #9

  1. Jenny says:

    Love the template. Happy is as happy does brings a smile

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s cute that you thought he called you Boo 🙂 From last week, I am thankful that my back is feeling better. I know it is going to take a while to heal, but it is getting a little better with each day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your personal templates! ‘Cranky is as cranky does.’ is an excellent suggestion to pop anyone out of their cranky mood. So… if you’re a cherry, then you are the one on top of a bowl of ice cream – bringing smiles to everyone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LosiLosLoco says:

    Life’s a bowl of cherries huh? Well, these are all good things Paardje! I’m glad to be catching up to the present. You’re so positive that it’s infectious. I love it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

