Thank You For “Melting Down” With Me + What I Did To Acknowledge Your Kindness

Mother's Day cake

Dearest friends, welcome back into my living room ❀ If you want, I have some leftover Mother’s Day cake in the fridge, just let me know πŸ™‚ I’m brewing coffee I bought from Melbourne too so, we should all be set.

(Cold drinks are in the fridge, feel free to help yourself you know you’re very welcome to do so!) ❀

This is a gratitude post for all your kind support, encouragement and ❀ to my meltdown post.Β  Every single one of your comments has lifted me up that I am walking around with swag and lightness πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

I do still intend to explore my ‘boredom’ further in upcoming posts. Right now though I feel a huge ‘thank you‘ is in order for reminding me that boredom happens, and that it is not a problem but rather a cosmic prodding. It is not a condition, it’s an opportunity.

THANK YOU! ❀ ❀ ❀

To acknowledge your kindness, I went out on a dinner date with my daughter πŸ™‚ Just the two of us, without my husband to translate.

Let me explain how this is a victory & celebration of sorts:

  1. The lay-out of this city necessitates a car of your own. My husband took ours to work so I had to choose public transport by way of a city bus or a taxi.Β  We preferred a taxi because city buses have certain routes I am not familiar with and I suspect nobody would understand a word coming out of my mouth. Taxi drivers would at least have some basic English under their belts.
  2. We still had to walk to someplace I was only half sure would have taxis. Luckily the sun was not as fierce anymore and we found a few available taxis right away.
  3. My daughter was worried about communicating and being understood. But I was cocky my pidgin Indonesian would suffice. And it did (somehow!) – I even managed to make the taxi driver laugh so hard (twice!) I thought he was going to have an asthma attack! XD XD

At the restaurant I was able to order, and order the right items. (In my experience so far it’s almost never a straightforward, point-to-a menu-item affair. The waitress will always have something to say whether it be the dish’ or a main ingredient’s unavailability, or how we want our drink or something about something — and stated in Indonesian that’s so fast I loll my tongue out and just pretend I’m dead) o_O o_O In any case …

My daughter’s fears were assuaged ❀

soto ayam

I assure you I ate with such gusto! This was a huge bowl and I wiped it clean XD For extra attitude I dunked all the tongue-numbing green chili they gave into the soup so nobody can ever accuse me of not knowing how to celebrate small victories πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Score! XD XD

And that is all for today πŸ™‚ Hugs!

24 comments

  1. Hehe maybe we can visit each other I can teach you Indonesian and you can teach me how to do crochet. I felt same way when i lived in foreign country, I felt lost because I dont’t understand what local people talk, maybe you need Indonesian friends to cheer you up. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is true, I do need Indonesian friends πŸ™‚ I have friends here actually, also SAHMs, and I used to go to Zumba class with them. But we have such different interests – they like to go to the mall and shop every day. I’m more into books and crochet πŸ™‚ They also live far away from us. I wish you were my neighbor πŸ‘πŸ‘ Merenda all day! XD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh I’m sure I can challenge you on that πŸ˜€ I LOVE sambal – I even put it in my oatmeal. I eat my boiled eggs with it. LOL! XD

      Like

      • Oatmeal? Hahahaha. Have you tried Pisang goreng with sambal? Sulawesi people usually eat pisang goreng with sambal roa (roa is like shredded smoked fish). Sounds strange but trust me it’s super yummy!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I know, crazy right? XD

        No I haven’t tried pisang goreng with sambal yet. I’ll try to look out for that and will let you know once I tried it. Thanks! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, very glad to hear! Baik baik, mengerti Bahasa Indonesian πŸ˜€ Tidah masala πŸ˜€ It’s good to celebrate small victories every once in a while ❀ It keeps us going and happy and appreciate things… And yes – I'd gladly have some of that delicious looking cake you've got there, if there's any left… πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?

