Ending May On A Happy Note πŸ‘ πŸ‘πŸ‘

2c38b551b0b6670461009670874dbf4fHello e’rrbody! How have you been? πŸ˜€ ❀

I’ve been deliciously busy last week, just plunged the depths of my interests and curiosities in the face of my “boredom” problem which is now but a pathetic & cowering shadow dragging its feet towards the gates of oblivion.

My! How dramatic. XD XD

Today, I chose to close May with a list of things that make me happy.Β  And I have to thank the radiant Lindsay over at the always insightful Letters to Dutch for happiness-tagging me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I was so excited when I got the tag because, who doesn’t want to make a list of things that make you happy?! I mean, that has got to be the single most simple, thoughtful, cost-free and happiness-inducing act you can do for yourself, yes?Β  πŸ˜€

I was also happy because I really want to share with you a personal story. Something I did when I first started out in the corporate world, in a big city full of strangers, that was telling of the attitude towards happiness I’d soon come to embrace.

Ready? πŸ™‚

OK!

The Story

It was a huge job in a huge city away from home.Β  I was new, I still had no friends and, Valentine’s day was coming up.Β  I don’t know why but all the single ladies in that office made such a big deal out of it.Β  Talking loudly about their guesses and fantasies about how their boyfriends would surprise them, fancy dinners, gifts, etc.Β  I’d hear them and swallow saliva because I already felt so lonely and uprooted, and now I’d have to be pitied for not having romantic liaisons too???

Que barbaridad! 😠 😠

My agony grew as Valentine’s day drew nearer.

But then a miracle happened. 🌟 πŸ’« ✨

On that Valentine’s day I walked away with the hugest, most impressively arranged (and probably the most expensive) bouquet of veeery pretty flowers.

And I lived happily ever after was beset with inquiries from curious (nosy) ladies for days after! XD XD

How did that happen?

Well, I bought myself that bouquet and told everybody it came from a “secret admirer”. End of agony. XD XD

words-to-live-by-famous-people-about-to-be-born-crazy-crazy-quote-about-life-and-happiness-580x593

And that was perhaps the first time I realized that happiness is something you engineer for yourself.

Granted, my example is petty and simplistic. But I know now that happiness doesn’t have to be complicated or profound.

This phrase “happiness is something you engineer for yourself” is not mine by the way. I came across it reading blogs on WP and the blog author was an engineer (not surprisingly). I can no longer recall who this person was, but I thank him and give him credit for something so simple yet profound. Note the use of the word “engineer”, because indeed, happiness does not fall out of the sky and most of the time, circumstances do not cooperate.

Shine anyway! 🌟 πŸ’« ✨

There are SO many things that make me happy – from the obvious (my family) to the mundane (that mug of coffee in the morning) and anything in between (looking up at a magnificent moon in the evening). For this post however, I have to narrow it down to 5 and, off the top of my head, these are:

⭐ Exercise ⭐

The fountain of youth! I cannot do without exercise now that I’ve gotten used to it and have fallen in love with it. My body and mind crave it. It makes me feel grateful for being healthy and capable, and I am dosed with feel good hormones for the rest of the day. Truly, exercise gets me out of any funk I might be feeling at any moment.

⭐ Music ⭐

Mainstream top 40. Lounge. House. Spa. Meditation. Acoustic. Medieval. Instrumental. Beach… I’ve been blasting The Black Eyed Peas on my speakers lately and then shift to Medieval when I’m reading my medieval mysteries. I listen to House when I’m doing yoga. It’s crazy but it works for me. Music makes me happy! ❀ ❀

As a gift to you, here’s the song that’s predicted to be the happiness theme song for 2016 πŸ™‚

⭐ Kindness/Generosity ⭐

The two are synonymous, I believe. An act of kindness gives my feet wings and even just seeing it or reading about it being done by others warms my heart. That’s why I watch the Ellen Degeneres show whenever I can because those surprises she doles out to unsuspecting people, they just make me want to swim from the chandelier (in a good way). LOL! XD XD

In my ‘confined’ state I am unable to do Random-Acts-Of-Kindness (RAOKs) directly, so I’ve taken to doing this via the games I play.Β  I’m currently obsessed with Seeker’s Notes: Hidden Mystery and I take great delight in helping my “friends” complete collections by gifting them with special items I have in surplus. The harder the item is to come by or build, the more excited I am to gift it πŸ™‚ ❀

I’ve thought of knitting/crocheting for charity too but, I really prefer doing an act of kindness in person. It just gives the most satisfaction ❀ ❀ ❀

⭐ Crocheting/Knitting ⭐

I am project oriented and I relish having a practical end-product at the end of my efforts. And if I can accomplish this with the least amount of equipment, then that’s just purrr-fect!

That is why crochet -and just very recently- knitting, appeals so much to me. The whole process is just so juicy! From choosing the project, the materials, the recipient and finally the making of the product itself. Yes, crochet and knitting definitely float my boat! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

hey_girl_medium

⭐ Choosing to be a SAHM ⭐

I love it! Little to no stress. The luxury of time to take care of your family and yourself. I even love the luxury of “boredom” that comes with it because I can cure that with something that nourishes my soul, mind or body. It’s just the perfect setting to be so deliciously self-focused.

~ oOo ~

And now it’s time for me to choose 5 others for this happiness tag πŸ™‚ πŸ‘ πŸ‘

The beautiful Minaxi over at Gameplan Happily Ever After.

The inspirational Debbie of Forgivingjournal.

One of the earliest blogger friends I made here on WP, I call her Karla (but I don’t really know for sure!) who takes the prettiest pictures and blogs over at My Messy World.

The cheerful & witty Carlos of Thoughts of a Trainwrecked Pineapple.

And … I just realized I’m gonna choose 6 instead because I have these 2 new blogging friends I just can’t leave out πŸ™‚ ❀

Yanti of New Lives and Opat of Handsy Craftsy. These lovely ladies are from Indonesia and they do not know (until now!) that they made me very happy when they responded to my meltdown post by inquiring about where I live in Indonesia and offering to be contacted if I ever should visit Jakarta ❀ ❀ ❀ (There’s just NO reason for me to sulk now, is there?) I’m just blessed like that πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

OK, that’s me.

But what about YOU? What makes YOU happy? Let me know in the comments section so I get more ideas for my happy-list πŸ˜πŸ˜ŠπŸ’ž

Thank you for reading, and B-Happy! 🐧

This entry was posted in Challenges & Writing Prompts, The Introverted Expat SAHM Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Ending May On A Happy Note πŸ‘ πŸ‘πŸ‘

  1. Nicky M says:

    What a great way to share your story – and I think it’s totally okay to buy yourself flowers (but don’t feel the need to say they were from someone else). Buy them because you are awesome and deserve them. Do it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hahaha. Your story was so funny πŸ˜€ I must say I would have thought about it for sure, but to DO it is entirely taking things up a different notch πŸ˜€ Awesome πŸ˜‰ Your high spirits are something to be cherished πŸ™‚ I will surely partake in the happiness tag πŸ™‚ Sounds like so much fun. Thanks a lot for nominating me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And that song! OMG! From the day it was released I have made it a point to listen to it atleast one time per day πŸ˜› It is so what do you call, magical ? ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Godsfruitful says:

    Glad that you got your HaPpY backπŸ™ƒπŸ™ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. char3112 says:

    I love it….as for the crochet well you will be hooked literally, i have put it away past 2 years but set myself challenge to finish a project and I’m thrilled I took it back out it’s therapy in its own right x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. theturtle says:

    Nice to know you’ve “got some Sunshine in your Pocket” πŸ˜€
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  7. socialgirl16 says:

    The 5 Things that make me Happy:
    1. My Dogs – they, always, make me smile and laugh often.
    2. Sleep – Because I don’t get enough on a daily basis.
    3. Having time to myself – It’s the introvert in me. I have to have me time to re-energize.
    4. Exercising – Helps to get rid of stress and figure things out.
    5. Making others happy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the sending yourself some flowers! I love to get a massage but giving one is almost as good. A bit like meditation and I get paid too!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely post ❀ What sort of medieval music did you end up finding? If you need more help and tips, just let me know, you got the right woman here… πŸ˜‰ I feel honoured and blushed when reading that my photographs make you happy ❀ Thank you so much for that lovely comment and for your tag – funny because I'm just working on a new post about just right this topic for my next Friday Flow ❀ I'll see what I can come up with – bear with me! Meanwhile, here's my momentary happiness song for you: enjoy!!! ❀ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMp55KH_3wo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      I’m liking Adrian Von Ziegler right now πŸ™‚ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSeJA6az0GrNM4_-pl3HQSQ

      And I loved La Gozadera! ❀ The kind of music I like to dance to πŸ™‚ I'll queue it after Enrique's Bailando ❀ Thanks for the link.

      And you're very welcome. Have fun with the happiness tag πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, I see. Haven’t heard of him before. It’s a bit like soft metal in a way. Would you listen to bands with voices? My favourites in that sort of genre would be Haggard, Ayreon, After Forever, to name a few. The “medieval” scene expands into softer fantasy tunes or fully medieval with traditional instruments such as bagpipes and all. All sound pretty different but somewhat “count” as the same over here πŸ˜‰ I can give you more names if you are curious.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paardje says:

        Hmmm … let me start with these names you’ve given me first. At least now I know who to ask for more 😁

        Thanks so much, I really appreciate your suggestions πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’ž

        Liked by 1 person

  10. tricomia says:

    I love your blog, but especially this entry. The song is great, and I love that you took control of your happiness and sent yourself flowers. I love the idea of the nosy co-workers trying to figure out who the “Secret Admirer” is, as well it was a great way to make yourself feel amazing. Why not send yourself awesome and beautiful stuff? Thank you for sharing your story! Take care,
    -Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  11. opat says:

    Paardje, thank you for tagging me. And such a lovely words you have.
    Great to see you happy πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. yanti says:

    Thanks for sharing your story and tagging me πŸ™‚ Sending love for you

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Terry Lewis says:

    Love it! Your post is infectious (in a good way of course!)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pilgrimswife says:

    My little garden makes me happy. When I pick my own flowers and eat my own veggies life is sweeter.

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

