Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recog-awardHappy Monday everybody! πŸ˜€

I’d like to start this week on a really positive note – a Blogger Recognition Award, bestowed upon me by the lovely Joanne @ A Glimpse Into My Journey.

Thanks so much, Joanne! ❀ I really appreciate this πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

The Rules of this Award (are actually pretty simple πŸ‘ πŸ‘):

Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog. Β Write a post to show your award. Β Attach the award to the post. Β Give a brief story of how your blog started. Β Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers. Β Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Β Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them & provide a link to the award post you created.

Okay then, here we go!

How this blog started:

It was on a flight home from LA. I couldn’t sleep, my head was swimming with so many stuff because things were happening career-wise and my personal life was also screaming for attention. In a bid to calm myself I commanded my brain to focus on things that made me happy.

I was riding this train of thought but my mind was still restless – up until the thought struck me that I should start a blog.Β  And that’s when I got excited πŸ˜€

I realized I needed an outlet, something that forced me to focus on the good things, the simple pleasures, the lessons, the fun and the crazy side of me. Something that could also be a platform for connecting with others of same interests but without the obtrusiveness of Facebook. I needed a happy space ❀ πŸ˜€

And thus OSB&V was born!

My advice to new bloggers.

  1. Β Be yourself.Β  Write to express, not to impress.Β 

When I started blogging I had no voice, I wrote to please the reader. I was tentative and needy of likes and comments. The things I wrote about were chosen with the reader in mind. Needless to say, I wasn’t really having much fun.

Then I started just expressing myself – this is my party, I can dance the way I want to, right?! XD As I gained more confidence just putting myself out there I also started having fun. And that’s when the likes, comments, follows and even the awards came πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ (Along with much much muccccccchhh appreciated comments like, “I like the way you write”, which always catapult me to the stars!).

In my experience, the posts that are the most “me” are the posts that get the most likes and comments.Β  So be yourself. Express yourself. It’s your blog πŸ™‚

2.Β  That said, do pay attention to quality writing.

I don’t know if many will agree to this but it’s like when we know we are going to have a visitor, we do comb our hair and wash our face at the very least don’t we?

Just because we are expressing ourselves, being real and all, doesn’t mean we forgo basic rules of grammar, composition and presentation XD I mean, I think it’s just being respectful to our readers. Many times I’ve come across an otherwise nice post but went away with less esteem for the writer because it was written and presented in a careless manner.

I value every visitor to my blog so much that I sometimes edit my posts to death! LOL! XD XD This is extreme of course and I’m no great writer by far but I do what I can to put my message out there in a way that is easy to read ❀

3.Β  Make it fun!

By now you should know it’s all about the fun factor for me πŸ˜€ To me this means, blog about the things you love, the things that matter to you. Don’t worry about finding your niche or your audience, this will come in time. Express your joy, marvel, appreciation, confusion. Express your crazy and unique sides.

Find other blogs of like-minded bloggers, reach out and make friends. Join writing challenges and prompts or make your own. Be as regular as possible, but allow yourself to take breaks whenever necessary. That way you come back refreshed and ready to put your piece of sunshine out there for others to find πŸ™‚

My nominees:

Hmmm … I’m never quite sure how to do this part 😲

There are quite a number of bloggers I’d like to nominate but I also know that some bloggers aren’t into this type of thing.Β  So allow me to try a different approach this time – I will nominate these sexy people on their blogs personally πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This way I feel that I’m not putting them on the spot if they choose not to accept.Β  (I don’t know if this is a good thing even πŸ˜– How do YOU do it?)

~ oOo ~

And that is that! πŸ˜€ Thank you for reading and – what advice do YOU have for new bloggers? Share YOUR thoughts in the comments section and (if you’re feeling sexy today!) feel free to consider yourself nominated for this award ❀ ❀ ❀

And don’t forget to visit Joanne.Β  She creates really delicious stuff over there and her posts are always a joy to read πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful week everyone! πŸ’‹

blogger-recog-award

This entry was posted in Monthly Reviews & Blog Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Blogger Recognition Award

  1. ~~ emzlee :) says:

    Perfect! Those are really wonderful words of advice, Paardje. πŸ™‚

    I agree with combing my hair when I know I get some visitors. (Well, I actually do even if I don’t have any. eheheh)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fessup says:

    Kudos Paardie. As a “newbie” blogger you are somewhat of a mentor!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caitlin says:

    As a new blogger I am taking your advice to heart! I am learning more and more to just write for myself (the whole reason I wanted to start blogging) and write what I am passionate about. Of course we all want to have a successful blog, but I will just thank my lucky stars for the ability to have this creative outlet. So happy you were nominated! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is great advice for a new blog like mine … thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. heartandsoul777 says:

    i feel like each time i visit your blog i learn something new! and i love that! you have a such a positive and truly uplifting energy im not sure if ive told you that before? hahaa if not than im tellin ya now! ❀ thank you for just being you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay Paardje – good for you. Congrats! And thanks for the advice.
    I also wanted to let you know that I’m going to be taking a break from blogging, probably for a week to a week and a half. I’m at a spiritual conference so will be booked up most of the day. Just wanted to let you know in case you didn’t hear from me! I plan to do a blog post tomorrow to let folks know. ❀
    Many blessings your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Thanks so much, Debbie πŸ™‚ ❀

      I wish you a wonderful time at the conference. (I've been lying low from the blogospere the past couple of weeks too πŸ™‚ I anticipate welcoming you back happy and refreshed ❀ ❀

      Always a lovely day when you drop by! πŸ™‚ Sunny hugs from Indonesia ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. yanti says:

    Hey great award for you πŸ™‚ As newbie i also pushed myself to attract readers, but now this is my blog i will enjoy it but of course I appreciate who read, like and comment in my blog. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Yeah, I think it’s normal to want to attract readers. And I think that’s okay too, as long as we blog first and foremost to express ourselves before anything else πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You are one among those who motivated me to write “my space”… Now that I have just started, I am sure these tips would help me writing my thoughts πŸ™‚
    Praveena

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award – Side by Side

  10. Candy says:

    It’s so true what you say about enjoying what you are writing, and expressing yourself. If you’re having fun, your reader is too. Thanks for the excellent post.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. chape says:

    Congrats!! Great advice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Share Your World 2016 #26 | Of SnailMail, Books & Vanities

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

