So What Happened to Those Goals?

I don’t know if you even remember but I had 3 goals for June which I shared with you in this blogpost.

Did I slay them?

Weeeeell ….

b128dc86c8f832515fadcda54474c9a0

1.Β  Complete Introductory & Phase 1 Beginner of my Indonesian language lessons.

I made progress. (Promise, I did! πŸ˜‡) I finished all Introductory lessons and a good chunk of Phase 1 Beginner lessons. My vocabulary has increased, and my grasp of sentence construction has improved.

But!

Midway through, my brain just left the building (or my skull for that matter!) 😯 It just went “oh-kay, that’s enough!” and NO amount of prodding could revive the interest. So no, I did not hit this goal 😐😐

2.Β  Knit my first sweater.

I also started real strong on this one. Take a look:

beginner knit sweater

And then I just went AWOL on her! Because I discovered something profound: I DON’T LIKE TO SEAM πŸ˜• πŸ˜• πŸ˜•

Good heavens! 😱

I LOVE knitting. As a matter of fact, I’m almost done knitting the back portion of another sweater.

But I just don’t enjoy seaming! 😣 πŸ˜– 😫

3.Β  Learn to make meatballs.

We still have not found the kind of meat quality we really like. And when my daughter gave the thumbs up after my second try, I left it at that and stopped production πŸ˜”

Adventurous cooking is difficult when ingredients are hard to find and … I might have allowed myself to get a bit discouraged there. (sniffle, sniffle)

making meatballs

Heart to heart conclusion:

I’ve procrastinated for 13 days on this post because I didn’t earn my gold stars. (Did I ever tell you I’m a type A?😡😡) And I’m gonna be honest with you – I did not enjoy June that much. When I look back it just feels like too much work and not enough fun. On some days it even felt like I was being chased by a mad dog! 😱 😱 (I’m exaggerating here for dramatic effect).

I’ve always enjoyed setting goals though and this time, I guess there were just some un-anticipated obstacles. But I did make progress and, for lack of anything else to say, don’t worry about the sweater. I got A PLAN! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

July is looking much better though πŸ’–Β πŸ’– (Yay!) Pilates, books, knitting and … NO pressure XD XD (body roll!! πŸ˜†)

This entry was posted in knitting, The Introverted Expat SAHM Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to So What Happened to Those Goals?

  1. ~~ emzlee :) says:

    Haha.. That’s fine Paardje. I still wanna look forward that PLAN about the sweater.

    And oh, the meatballs!!! πŸ˜€ You mentioned your daughter gave you a thumbs up, so that couldn’t be very bad at all. ahahah

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think you did great, YAY! You took action on all 3 goals. My spiritual teacher John-Roger has said that taking small steps can lead to beautiful results down the road. πŸ™‚ Good on you. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. naelany says:

    seaming isn’t for everyone. Luckily, there are ways to knit sweaters that require little to none, depending on the pattern πŸ˜‰ So don’t give up hope! FOr now, buckle down and finish your first sweater, you’ll be glad you did πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paardje says:

      Thanks, Karin. I appreciate the encouragement πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

      I can and I will! (Cue Katy Perry's "Roar") LOL! XD XD

      Like

  4. theturtle says:

    Not bad at all πŸ™‚ You’re very hard on yourself πŸ˜‰
    As for the knitting maybe just find someone who just loves to sew the knits ???
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Aww, thank you ❀ I AM hard on myself, that's why I still bite my nails!! (Ooopsies, TMI!) LOL!

      As for finding someone who likes to sew: how I wish!!! But that option is not available to me 😦 😦 It's okay though, I'm seeing this as a chance to earn a reward. (Gotta make it fun!)

      Paardje hugs ❀ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! June seems to have been a productive month … good luck with July! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. slowandsteadydave says:

    I remember those goals! You should have stayed quiet and I’d have thought you nailed them! Ha, ha! Just kidding, Paardje, great follow-up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      LOL! Oh I was tempted alright! XD XD But nah, y’all are too smart and I love y’all too much for that ❀ πŸ˜‰ My incentive is always the comments that come afterwards. I learn so much/get a lot of inspiration (and good cheer) from them ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bea Minus says:

    I can relate… being a Type b minus personality…

    Just a suggestion about the sweater… I don’t like doing those boring, finishing touches on crochet/knitting projects either… so I have my favorite music playing while I do it. And, I have a glass of wine standing by, too. Also gets me through housework… LOL!

    B-

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paardje says:

      LOL! Thanks for the suggestions πŸ™‚ There will be much ado about putting myself ‘in the mood’ for the seaming. Some (maybe a lot of?) distraction/incentive necessary XD XD

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the color of your sweater and would love to see a finish πŸ˜‰ You can do it!! You accomplished a lot in June. Congrats. Maybe July has a sweater finish??

    Liked by 1 person

  9. socialgirl16 says:

    I’m trying to find time to get back to doing Pilates, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Yeah it’s tough to establish (or return to) a new habit. You’d think pinning down the ideal time would be easy but it’s not that simple πŸ˜€ Best of luck though. If you want it hard enough, you can make it happen ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: And Her Name Shall Be “Eve” πŸŽ† πŸŽ† πŸŽ† | Of SnailMail, Books & Vanities

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

