I Should Be So Loki In Love

One of the things we resolved to do when we came back to Batam (from Melbourne) was to buy a dog.  We wanted to get serious about investing in our happiness (as a family) and all 3 of us agreed a dog was one of the best ways to go.

Meet the newest member of our family: 2 (almost 3) months old Loki ❤️

1

We got him a little over a week ago. My husband clearly wanted the show-off factor, so he went for a Siberian Husky.  Not that I’m complaining 😀 I’d be lying if I said Loki’s looks didn’t steal my heart.

2

That said, it did take me about 3-4 days to really take to him.  He’s so energetic, and not yet house-trained so he was (still is, but he’s somewhat identified his ‘corners’ now) doing his business everywhere around the house, aside from chewing and biting on anything that would catch his curiosity.

I’m almost 7 months preggers, so stooping down to clean after Loki was a source of stress. Even more so since I obsessed about my clean, shiny tile flooring, that now is rife with paw prints.

4

I wanted to return him to the pet shop (I know! 😔) except for the fact that if I had insisted on it I would have greatly disappointed my daughter and husband.  So I let go of my visions of perfectly shiny floors and a house that smelled clean and fresh 24/7 (well, we’re not exactly stinky either but when you get inside the door you’ll know there’s a dog in the house 😁).  My daughter also stepped up to help take care of Loki, which really impressed me.

3

I am genuinely very fond of Loki now and am glad I’ve come to my senses. I really do want my home to be a happy place and, for me, the warm welcome of  a wagging tail, a lolling tongue and wide, eager eyes support that goal much better than a bowl of goldfish 😇

I’m not deluded either – I know this is just the beginning of a beautiful but rocky adventure.  After all, dogs have their own personalities, need a lot of patience and discipline and – Huskies are intelligent (not to mention, escape artists). But for now, our house is indeed a lot more cheerful with naughty Mr Poo-piddle running playfully around 😊

This entry was posted in Happiness At Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I Should Be So Loki In Love

  1. Loki is beautiful! And it’s the perfect name for a puppy! I’m going to have to add a Husky to the small list of potential breeds we have (which consists of German Sheps and Labradors currently, my husband is picky!)

    You’re brave getting one at 7 months pregnant though! I can’t imagine dealing with a toddler and a toddler dog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Thanks, Nikki! 🙂 Before he got married, my father used to have a German Shepherd, I only saw pictures of her but she was beautiful 🙂

      You’re brave getting one at 7 months pregnant though! I can’t imagine dealing with a toddler and a toddler dog! — Oh, I’ve called myself much worse names than “brave” to be honest. (Plus a couple of silently expressed expletives) LOL! XD

      The timing is indeed “iffy” and it’s something I’ll have to play by ear. The hubs and daughter will have to pitch in whenever possible and, thank goodness for the hired cleaner who comes in about an hour everyday to clean, do the clothes ironing and dishes. Guess I’m gonna rely on her more!

      There is also a pet care service nearby that charges less than 4USD for a 2-days-1-night stay, and your dog comes home smelling like a spa – in case I really need that day off 🙂

      Thanks so much for commenting ❤

      Like

      • I do love German shepherds, which is why I’m letting my husband insist on it!
        I’m sure it’ll work out fine, I have been told that the best time to get a puppy is when you have small children as they grow together, I’m not sure how true that is but I like that idea!
        That pet service sounds great, I dread to think how much something like that would cost here, minimum of £50 I reckon!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bea Minus says:

    Loki is adorable… I love dogs… as long as they belong to someone else. 😉 LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      LOL! Heavens, do I KNOW how THAT feels! XD XD In those first 3 days of ambivalent feelings towards Loki I did go to sleep with that though in my head XD XD I’d go – those who say dogs = happiness are LYING! LOL! XD I’ve been schooled, I know 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. naelany says:

    oh my god, he’s adorable! I hope he won’t live up to his name too much 😉 And yes, shiny, spotless floors will be a thing of the past, sorry 😉 But the lovin’ will be worth it

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have struggled with having to let go of my ideas for how I wanted my home to look when we got our second dog. Our first dog is less destructive in that area at least. To me it is really difficult to change my surroundings and to change them for the “worse” (with chewed furniture and all), was really a struggle.

    I know now, though, that I can’t go back. I love my little Scarlet.

    Loki does look like a very sweet dog. It’s awesome your daughter is stepping up to care for the dog. It’s funny how different circumstances allow us to learn more about each other.

    Lots of luck. It looks like you’re going to need it!

    ~Bunny

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paardje says:

      Thank you so much, Bunny 🙂 ❤

      Every day brings new lessons in Loki-care for us. But as I am the one left at home, it falls on my shoulders to learn, experiment and share the findings. No two days are the same, there are bad days and good days. Now my focus is to create a daily schedule for Loki instead of Loki creating a schedule for us- which is like being harassed, I can tell you as much! LOL!

      I'm happy you dropped by and shared your thoughts. Cuddles to Scarlet ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great post – so real and authentic. I can appreciate the range of emotions about having a dog! And he is a cutie patootie too. 🙂 Glad that you got used to him and opened to a new form of loving. Loki is lucky to have you I think, and you him. Have a blessed rest of your week! Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lolabees says:

    What a beauty! We have a husky mix who is also 2 years old. They are wild puppies! She has so much energy. A friend who has had huskies before told me that I’ll hate her until she’s 2, but after that she’ll be the best dog ever. At almost 2 years old, she is definitely calming down and becoming sweeter everyday! Hope it goes well with your cute pup!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. He is a beauty. I totally understand your apprehension to taking care of a dog. Especially while being pregnant. You definitely have your hands full and I hope it all works out. Best of luck to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Emma says:

    He is so adorable! 😍 I hope that he get potty trained soon though, I remember when my dog was a puppy and it was so annoying to go clean after him 😅

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

