I Let Myself Loose In A Dollar Bookstore

books Nori dollAnd … ta-daaaah!  Et voici my new acquisitions.  I just love dollar bookstores by the way because I can go crazy without having to worry about how much it’s gonna cost me 🙂 Plus, I can get hardbounds for much, much less.

It was an interesting surprise for me to note that 3 of the 6 books I bought are about family & marriage.  I wasn’t even thinking as I pulled out and set my choices aside – you know how it goes, something catches your eye, you open to a random page, like what you see, into the check-out basket it goes.  Methinks it has everything to do with me having recently quit my job and opting for a year (or more?) of domestic adventures.  It’s always been about getting ahead at work before but, maybe those days are blissfully over.

Anyhoot, and without further ado, these are the reads that’ll keep me engrossed in the next few weeks:

The Ten Laws of Lasting Love by Paul Pearshall.  Described as a book that will help all kinds of couples renew and recapture the feelings that originally brought them together.  This book presents 10 principles to re-energize relationships and transform routine monogamy into the kind of intimate partnership that endures.

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Vegan Living by Beverly Lynn Bennett and Ray Sammartano.  The husband and I are thinking of modifying our diets to be more plant-based, but we don’t know how, so this book will hopefully give us some ideas.  On the back cover it says this book will make the reader – understand how to transition to a vegan lifestyle, learn to get all your protein from vegetables and nuts, find calcium in soy and rice mild and other plant-based products, discover ways to apply compassion to all aspects of your life, not just what you eat, provide your vegan baby with all her pre-and postnatal nutritional needs, and finally, shop and dine out, vegan style.

Matilda Bone by Karen Cushman.  I had to throw something for the imagination into the mix and this fiction set in medieval times was a no-brainer.  (I just ❤ medieval!).  Matilda Bone is the compelling, comic story of a girl learning to live contentedly in this world.

Family First by Dr. Phil McGraw.  I’ve always wanted to create some simple family traditions but have never gotten around to doing so.  I opened this book to a random page and, what do you know, my eyes were greeted with the bold section header Factor#3: Establish Meaningful Rituals and Traditions. I am sure I manifested this book!  I think this is more of a parenting book than anything else though.  From the back cover (and Dr. Phil): ” what I intend to do in Family First is tell you with great precision what you need to stop doing and what you need to start doing to lead your family with sure a pure purpose and power that the competing messages (from society and media – my note) are drowned out”.

The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands by Dr. Laura Schlessinger.  This book is mentioned as the author’s most provocative book yet and “urgently reminds women that to take proper care of their husbands is to ensure themselves the happiness and satisfaction they yearn for in marriage”.  Well, there’s always room for improvement! 🙂

The Girl Genius Guide to Sex (with Other People) by Cathryn Michon.  Another work of fiction that’s described as “a rollicking romantic comedy cum self-help guide”.  Kewl!  I’m always up for some laughs.

 

And there you have it, my delicious and dear companions on the couch. I don’t usually buy this many in one go, but a mere glance at this stack of 6 is enough to make me smile 🙂 I’m definitely up for some review and discussion in the coming days … hold me to it, won’t you?  Meanwhile, what books are keeping you company?

So what do you think?

