“Profound Wisdom” Gained While The Internet Was Down

cohesion-1156942_960_720

A little dystopia, anyone? 😳

No sooner had I declared my first weekly challenge for April when the internet – my connection to the outside world, my muse, my source of everything – went out. At first I thought it’d be for just an hour or two but – it lasted 27 agonizing hours.

The horror! 😮

I experienced withdrawal symptoms, I’ll tell you that. I rely so much on the internet for everything – even the radio station I listen to every morning – that when it was gone it felt like I was in real solitary confinement.

Battling severe annoyance I resolved to be the bigger person (or thing) and use it as inspiration for a blog post. (Ha!)

So please find hereunder listed the profound wisdom I gained from those debilitating 27 hours sans connection o_O

  1.  Don’t get everything from one provider – landline phone, cable TV, internet.

Getting everything from one provider is just plain s#*&! … err, not smart. It’s like your friends decided to abandon you all at the same time and you’re left there with just deafening silence.

 2.  This is for those who, like me, are on prepaid mobile phone credits: make sure your phone is loaded. Or know where to buy some. And make sure you have money on hand to do so.

So you can call or text somebody and know that you are not alone.

3.  Always download unto laptop whatever it is you are working on that is otherwise internet dependent  – crochet projects, exercise videos & such.

I could only work on my crochet project up to a certain number of rows before I found myself unable to proceed because the pattern was on the net.  Ugh!

I could not do my wheel pose exercises because there was no YouTube.  Ugh!

My strength training exercises were only half as fun because my workout music is a playlist on YouTube. Ugh!

4.  You will experience symptoms of withdrawal – do not go into the light!

Read, organize closets, do not sulk or dwell, just divert attention anywhere but on the problem at hand.

Easier said than done but really, what else can you do?

5.  Cultivate a life away from your internet-dependent tech gadgets so that you are prepared when it happens.

I do try 😳

So there – learn from my experience, people!!! 😲

Now where was I?

Oh, the wheel pose – I’m behind by 2 days now for Pete’s sake! :/ :/

18 comments

  1. I know the pain of which you speak! We endured a 3 day blackout a few years ago after an ice storm. No internet, no lights, no heat.
    As you noted in #3, it’s sad how totally dependent we’ve become on the ‘net :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • 3 days, my goodness!!! I know if I experienced that I’d be all “this is a time for self-reflection” in my head but in reality impatient to have everything back to “normal” XD

      Appreciate your comment, Joanne 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are so funny, but I know how annoying this can be. I’m much older than you and I always print hard copies of anything I do online, mainly because I fear I may never find it again! My world has been turned upside down recently with a workaholic husband retiring. He has transferred all his bad working habits to our home and it’s a struggle. I am used to having 12 hours a day to myself to do as I please. However, we will work it out I’m sure, no internet to turn to, would make me very unhappy, so I feel for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! Thank you 😀 I know how it feels to have all that time to do as you please – heaven! On weekends, my happiness feels a bit curtailed with the husband and daughter around, but Mondays are my favorite day of the week as you can imagine! XD Good luck on finding a new balance with your husband, I’m sure you’ll find it, it just needs some time. Blessings! ❤

      Like

  3. I can imagine what you’ve been through because I’ve been in a similar situation. Now I always download what I need (and can be downloaded) and I even print patterns that I’m working on just in case light goes out and the pc battery runs out too. You never know!! I also like to keep several dvd copies of my family photos, and copy on my cloud service and external hard drive… I know it looks like I’m going overboard but photos and videos of my little ones are priceless to me, I don’t want to lose a single one!

    This makes me think of a quote I read once from Mark Twain: “Civilization is the limitless multiplication of unnecessary necessities.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • You never know, indeed. LOL! XD And I don’t think you can ever go overboard with photos and videos. They step in where memory fails and that’s priceless.

      And that’s a terrific quote to end with right there 😉 Thanks so much for commenting ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Embrace it!! We travel a lot of the time in our Motorhome and have taken the decision to NOT equip it with wifi. It’s a blissfully trouble free time and if there’s a real problem at home they can always phone us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! XD I could probably do that after downloading and printing out all my crochet patterns, and saving my exercise vids on the laptop. And if the phone is still up then I’m good 😀

      Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?

