The Art Of Doing Things Just For The Sake Of Doing Them

people-1440820_960_720

Yesterday I stumbled on a great think: I have to learn to do things just for the sake of doing them.

😮 😮 😮

I don’t do things just for their sake. I am such an auditor where expending time, effort & resources are concerned.

“Why go out with the ladies when there is nothing new to see?”

“Why crochet accessories for this house when we’re not staying here for long?”

“Why learn Indonesian when we’ll be moving to another country soon?”

“Why go out for coffee when I can brew my own and it’s too hot besides and etc, etc, etc”.

“Why buy those heels that make me feel like a million if I’m only going to wear it once?”

“Why do this when …?”

😐 😐 😐

This is perhaps something I learned during all those years working for large multinational companies – begin with the profitable end in mind. And it sure seems like I’ve gotten so good at this formula that I don’t know anymore how to just do something for the sake of it.

✋✋✋

There doesn’t have to be a strong, logical argument in favor of whatever that thing is in order for me to do it. I could just do it for its sake and be in the moment and allow myself to just relax and not be too analytical.

Granted, this “analytical” kind of thinking has its benefits. A good example is the decision I made to exercise at home, which has been far more effective than all those times I exercised at the gym combined.

But beyond this I really can’t see much advantage to adapting this kind of thinking as a default frame of mind. To the contrary, it robs me of the joy of the moment.

👀 👀 👀

So.

I think I should just do. Maybe reach out to the girls and go along on their “pointless” 😇 😇 “jalan-jalan” and enjoy it? Of course, I won’t be doing it every day as they do (too much for this cheerful introvert!) but maybe I could do something with them every other week.  Or I could go with them and get that facial treatment they were raving about, never mind that I have my own facial spa equipment at home. (Yep, this spa equipment courtesy of my analytical thinking process again).

And I’m going to learn as much Indonesian as I can, even though I’ll probably forget most of it by this time next year.

And I’m gonna crochet whatever I feel like because it makes me happy and I can always give them away when the time comes.

Yeah.

I’m going to learn to enjoy doing just for the sake of it.

❤️‍ ❤️‍ ❤️‍

37 comments

  1. Oh my, you sound like my husband. By all means just do it for the sake of it. I do, all the time, because it makes me happy. I spent too long doing what I was supposed to do for everyone around me. I applaud you learning to do it just for the sake of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Barbara! 😀 Definitely one of the things I most appreciate about being a SAHM in a little, uneventful city in Indonesia is that it allows me these insights into myself 😀 Next is to put these words into practice of course, that’s the tough part 😉

      Like

    • Yes, if you keep censoring things you’re stifling your growth, not just killing the fun out of living. Glad you liked the post 😀 Good luck ❤ ❤

      Like

  2. What a blessing, thank you! My spiritual teacher J-R once told a story of a guy who was visiting his teacher and bringing him a gift. It was a long journey, and he had a small gift. Someone once asked how he could bring such a small gift to a great man. The guy replied, ‘The journey is a part of the gift.’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I too have faced this paradox of being productive Vs provocative for many years. I have developed two brain-tattoos to balance those competing thoughts.

    1. Serendipity = Giving permission to pleasant surprises and happenstances. I call this “experience incubation” which allows me to collect and contemplate (in my journal) those elusive pebbles in everyday life which are more likely to be ignored. Plus it only aids (not contradicts) the critical thinking by increasing the choices to choose from.

    2. Provocation (Po) = Doing things not for the sake of its output but for its movement value. This I learnt from a magnificent book named Lateral Thinking by Edward de Bono, in which he gives, among many other tools “Po”, to encourage creative thinking by connecting two seemingly irrelevant things and working backwards to see the logic which was invalid to start from.

    And I’m now perfectly comfortable in making choices that are of great value to my well being.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I love the definitions of both words, they challenge the control freak in me and invite deeper contemplation on my part 🙂 And I think I ought to get my hands on that book, seems like it will speak to me too 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and enriching this post ❤ ❤

      Like

  4. I like to workout at home, too. It seems taking the time to go to a gym is pointless and takes up too much time. I have no problem with just doing to do, because I like to do things where I have fun. But then I guess I could be seen as not disciplined enough…LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it was the time spent (lost) in commuting to and from gym that made me decide to just workout at home too. I could never be consistent with the gym because when the weather was bad or I was just feeling lazy, it was so easy to just not go. I am just 95% consistent at home 😀 You should rub off some of that doing attitude on me XD XD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha XD I think it’s how you slowly turn into a grump, Ginny XD XD So it’s best to nip it in the bud! Takes real self-monitoring though 😀 Thanks so much for dropping by ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, what a good reminder! It seems like as we get older we stop doing things just because they’re fun. We start thinking about whether the actions are “worth” our time, energy, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! It becomes habit and we think we’re just being practical. Sometimes we are, but we don’t even realize we’re doing too much of it that we’re slowly becoming grumps XD XD

      Like

    • Hahahaha! Oh no, I had no idea this was so common. Please don’t fall into this trap – it will turn us into grumps!!! XD XD Please do go ahead and crochet whatever that thing is. If only to marvel at what your hands are capable of creating 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Balance is the key 🙂
    Especially when you move a lot and only take the suitcase and not the household along.
    Enjoy and be ‘frugal’ at the same time maybe?
    😉
    I went for the cheap heels that still looked darn good, because I had to leave them behind anyway.
    Learned some words of the language on markets and from taxi drivers instead of doing a cumbersome language course 😉
    And keep crocheting, no matter what.
    Gift the things you have to leave behind whenever you leave to folks that will like them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cumbersome language course indeed! XD XD Thanks so much for your input, Nicole ❤ I learn a lot from the people who comment on my posts, and I do take them to heart 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • We all learn from each other 🙂
        I always love it, when ‘natives’ ask me why I don’t / didn’t learn their language.
        We had a house in Hungary for some years, rented as our ‘base of operations’. We were rarely there, except for one whole year in 2008.
        One woman who had lived in Germany a while and spoke some German (besides her native Hungarian), asked me why I hadn’t learned Hungarian yet. I speak 2 languages fluent and two others rudimentary. I picked up words and we communicated with people even without the language. Judging people sadly is human nature and many don’t try to see behind what’s going on in the Lives of those they talk to.
        Asking a question is ok, but judgmental comments make me go up a wall. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier – I came to check yours out and I’m going to take this post right here as the strategically placed kick I needed. It’s Sunday morning and I have a bunch of yarn sitting there sadly, untouched for months. I’m going to let my to-do list take a running jump, and go do something I enjoy just for the sake of doing it, and not worry about whether I’m doing the most productive thing possible with my time right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Such a fitting goal for a Sunday morning – go do something you enjoy 🙂 I’m glad you found this post useful, Gloria. Thanks so much for dropping by and commenting 🙂 ❤

      Like

  8. Ooo… This is really inspiring. Whole my life been too much doing thing for the sake of something or other. Going to start doing things just for the sake of doing them. Your post like a reminder to me. Great!

    Liked by 1 person

It's not a party until you say something! Go on ....

